Skip to main content

U Libraries’ Tretter Collection honored for service to GLBT community

By January 15, 2016September 16th, 2023No Comments
1974 Minnesota Gay Pride poster

1974 Minnesota Gay Pride poster from the Tretter Collection.

The Jean-Nickolaus Tretter Collection in Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Studies at the University of Minnesota Libraries has been named inaugural recipient of the Newlen-Symons Award for Excellence in Serving the GLBT Community by the American Library Association’s Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Round Table (GLBTRT).

The award was established to honor a library, librarian, library staff member, library board and/or library friends groups who serve the GLBT community. Nominees are judged based on innovation, impact, sustainability and advocacy.

“The Newlen-Symons Award recognizes the tremendous impact of the Tretter Collection and its leadership in collecting and preserving the record of the GLBT community, from the University of Minnesota campus and beyond,” said ALA President Sari Feldman. “Through preservation, collection development and advocacy, the Tretter Collection embodies how libraries can transform lives and communities.”

“The Tretter Collection has been exceptional at capturing and preserving the record of the GLBT community and in collaborating with that community to develop innovative programs and resources,” said University Librarian and McKnight Presidential Professor Wendy Pradt Lougee. “Now with an international audience, the Tretter is a leader in the advancement of GLBT archives and libraries.”

Tretter was selected in part for:

  • Its role in organizing the international GLBT Archives, Libraries, Museums and Special Collections (ALMS) conference
  • Collecting materials from a wide variety of GLBT community groups and organizations (including the Log Cabin Republicans and international GLBT organizations, many in countries where homosexuality remains illegal)
  • The visionary development of the trans* community oral history project.

The award will be presented June 27 during the Stonewall Book Awards program at the ALA Annual Conference in Orlando. The award is funded by and named after Robert R. Newlen, chief of staff, Library of Congress and John W. and Ann K. Symons. Ann Symons is past-president and treasurer of the American Library Association and the immediate past chair of GLBTRT.


The Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Round Table of the American Library Association is committed to serving the information needs of the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender professional library community and the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender information and access needs of individuals at large. GLBTRT is committed to encouraging and supporting the free and necessary access to all information, as reflected by the missions of the American Library Association and democratic institutions.

Mark Engebretson

Author Mark Engebretson

More posts by Mark Engebretson

© 2024 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Privacy Statement | Acceptable Use of IT Resources