Skip to main content
FeaturedNewsRead This Book!Short Stacks Video PodcastVideo

Ridgway Award winners

By January 4, 2017November 8th, 2023No Comments

In this installment of “Read This Book!”, children’s librarian Lisa Von Drasek highlights the winners of the 2016 Marion Vannett Ridgway Book Awards. The Ridgway Award is a memorial award given to an author or illustrator in recognition of an outstanding debut in the world of children’s picture books.

Books discussed:

  • Trombone Shorty by Troy Andrews
  • Voice of Freedom by Carole Boston Weatherford and Illustrated by Ekua Holmes
  • Smick! by Doreen Cronin and Juana Medina.

About Lisa Von Drasek and Tim Johnson

Lisa Von Drasek is the Curator of the Children’s Literature Research Collections at the University of Minnesota Libraries. Tim Johnson is Curator of Special Collections and Rare Books and the E. W. McDiarmid Curator of the Sherlock Holmes Collections at the University of Minnesota Libraries.

About Read This Book!

Read This Book! is a video podcast produced by the University of Minnesota Libraries. It is available on YouTube and iTunes.
[powerpress_playlist type=”video” category=”read”]

Mark Engebretson

Author Mark Engebretson

More posts by Mark Engebretson

© 2024 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Privacy Statement | Acceptable Use of IT Resources