Skip to main content

Lisa Von Drasek talks about the 2017 Marion Vannett Ridgway Award winners in this episode of Read This Book! from the University of Minnesota Libraries.

Hannah and Sugar, written and illustrated by Kate Berube was the 2017 winner, with Honor Awards going to Bethan Woollvin for Little Red and Dori Kleber for More-igami.

About the Ridgway Award

Established in 1993, the Ridgway Award is given each year to an author or illustrator in recognition of an outstanding debut in the world of children’s picture books. The award is given in memory of Marion Vannett Ridgway, a beloved artists’ representative who worked in the New York City publishing community for more than 40 years, and who extended generous support and encouragement especially to artists just making their way into children’s book publishing.

About Tim Johnson and Lisa Von Drasek

Tim Johnson is Curator of Special Collections and Rare Books and the E. W. McDiarmid Curator of the Sherlock Holmes Collections at the University of Minnesota Libraries. Lisa Von Drasek is the Curator of the Children’s Literature Research Collections at the University of Minnesota Libraries.

About Read This Book!

Read This Book! is a video podcast produced by the University of Minnesota Libraries. It is available on YouTube and iTunes.

[powerpress_playlist type=”audio” channel=”read-audio” height=”200″]
Mark Engebretson

Author Mark Engebretson

More posts by Mark Engebretson

© 2024 Regents of the University of Minnesota. All rights reserved. The University of Minnesota is an equal opportunity educator and employer.
Privacy Statement | Acceptable Use of IT Resources